Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Using Libraries: Public Libraries

You guide now & after your graduate!

Public libraries - available to you now & after graduation!

Note: ODU faculty, staff, & students will be unable to borrow SearchOhio items through ODU Library from November 19, 2021, through January 24, 2022, while we update our catalog system. We recommend getting a State Library card and using the State Library during this time for your SearchOhio requests.

The Libraries

Did you know that some public libraries in Ohio are members of OhioLINK?

And there's more!

As an ODU student, you have access to SearchOhio libraries through the SearchOhio Catalog. SearchOhio is the public libraries' smaller version of OhioLINK and is available to anyone who is a faculty, staff, or student enrolled in an OhioLINK member institution or to anyone holding a library card from any Search Ohio member institution - view member listing here.

Ohio Web Library is a searchable collection of online publications and research resources from library databases accessible to Ohio residents, made available by Libraries Connect Ohio (LCO), a partnership of Ohio's libraries and library organizations. Databases include, but are not limited to:

  • Academic Search Premier
  • Medline Psychology Collection
  • Business Source Premier
  • Newspaper Source
  • Sociological Collection

 To get quick access to a local public library catalog in this area, visit the ODU Library Catalog an click on Other Library Catalogs.

Visit the Ohio Public Libraries Information Network (OPLIN) for more information and visit OPLIN's Find a Library in Ohio to find a public library near you.

Moving out of Ohio? Vist USA.gov to find a public library in the U.S., wherever you are.

After Graduation (And Now!)

Local public libraries serve their communities based on community need and funding.

In addition to popular items, many public libraries also provide certain scholarly or professional journals, reference works, and databases.

Summing Up:

  • All you need is a valid library cad from a library to use its resources!
  • You can have access through public librarise to not only popular magazines, videos, & books, public libraries, but also research, news, & other databases!

Interested?

Take a look at some of the local public libraries in central Ohio.

Did you know...?

“Despite the difficulties of conceiving a national policy towards public libraries, the overall approach that a government makes toward them is an important measure of its commitment to information policy as a whole. The place public libraries have in a government's priorities is a good measure of that government's commitment to an informed and educated citizenry.”

- Maria Luisa Calanag. “ Public Libraries in the Information Society: The Role of Information Policies. ” New Review of Libraries and Lifelong Learning. 4.1 (January 2003): 121-135.

Need help?

Need help finding a library? Using  a library catalog or database? Or help with your research strategy? 
ODU reference librarians are happy to help ODU's faculty, staff, students, & alumni. Just ask a librarian.