Research Guides: Chemistry Research Guide: Start your Research Here

How to Use this Guide

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

Key starting points for your research
Scholarly & professional sites for use in class & in the field
Other potential resources in Biology
Tips & strategies

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Looking for Something Else?

You might also be interested in these Course Research Guides:

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Top Research Databases

Use these database for researching the literature--articles, conference proceedings, and similar publications.

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic full-text versions of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by American Chemical Society.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost Interface) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is a premier database that provides access to for life sciences and biomedical research, with nearly 11 million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of articles from more than 7000 online scholarly research journals covering many subject areas.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

Additional databases are available in our Databases for Chemistry page.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases that are free & open to the public and provide access to research articles, conference proceedings, and the like:

BioMed Central
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, & Health
Pubmed
Publicly accessible medical database from the National Library of Medicine.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS, a non-profit publisher, provides a searchable repository of full-text research literature.
Google Scholar
Search multidisciplinary sources for articles & patents.
Thermal Resources
Material properties and paper databases concerning thermal conductivity. Also includes calculators, experiments, & more.
TOXNET Information
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic releases.

Springer Nature Experiments
Find, evaluate, and implement experiments across the life sciences with this public (open access) database of protocols and methods from Springer Nature.

Video Tutorials

EBSCO Databases: Advanced Searching (2-min video)
BIOSIS: Search Tips (7-min. video)
Working with your EBSCO Results List
Find out how to limit your results by (a) what kind of article you need & (b) what time frame you need, as well as how to sort, save, & link back to your searches!

Step-by-Step Guides

PubMed Tutorial