Skip to Main Content

Chemistry Research Guide: Scholarly & Professional Websites

Connect with resources in Chemistry, and get help where you need it!

Use the web sites below for finding professional associations, research in chemistry, data, and quick reference tools.

Associations

Periodic Tables

ChemED Digital Library Periodic Table Live!
Periodic Table of the Elements (ACS)
Royal Society of Chemistry Periodic Table
Includes origin & discovery information, as well as history, uses, & other data.Also iIncludes some podcasts & videos.
WebElements Periodic Table
Includes descriptions & additional information on the elements.
Periodic Videos (University of Nottingham)
Periodic Table with links to informative videos.

Patent Information

Constants, Conversions, & Calculators

Visit these ready reference sites for various constants & measures:

Public Database Sites for Data, Structures, & More

Chemexper Chemical Directory
ChemSpider Synthetic Pages: Search Reactions
ChemSynthesis Chemical Database
Browse by compound class. Includes structures.
Guide to Chemicals (Encyclopedia of Occupational Health & Safety)
NCBI Structure Database
NIST Standard Reference Database
NMRShfitDB
Database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra
Organic Compounds Database
Thermal Resources
Material properties and paper databases concerning thermal conductivity. Also includes calculators, experiments, & more.

Chemistry Portals

SIRCh: Selected Internet Resources for Chemistry
SIRCh provides links to information on the publication cycle; current awareness tools; formula, structure, & patent searching; reactions; and more.

Tips for Using the Internet

Need help? Ask a Librarian.