Research Guides: CHM360 Research Guide: Databases & Journals

Top Research Databases

Use these database for researching the literature--articles, conference proceedings, and similar publications.

ACS Publications
Provides access to the electronic full-text versions of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by American Chemical Society.
AGRICOLA
Provides article citations by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
BIOSIS Citation Index
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
BIOSIS Previews
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
Environment Complete
Contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost Interface)
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is a premier database that provides access to for life sciences and biomedical research, with nearly 11 million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC)
Includes the full text of articles from more than 7000 online scholarly research journals covering many subject areas.
Science Citation Index Expanded
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

Additional databases are available in our Databases for Chemistry page.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

State Library of Ohio
With a library card from the State Library of Ohio, you can request OhioLINK items and pick them up there and return them there, even after graduation.

Use these databases that are free & open to the public and provide access to research articles, conference proceedings, and the like:

BioMed Central
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, & Health
Google Scholar
Search multidisciplinary sources for articles & patents.
Pubmed
Publicly accessible medical database from the National Library of Medicine.
TOXNET Information
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic releases.

EBSCO Databases: Advanced Searching (2-min video)
EBSCO Databases: Reading your Results
Working with your EBSCO Results List
Find out how to limit your results by (a) what kind of article you need & (b) what time frame you need, as well as how to sort, save, & link back to your searches!