Online & Distance Learning: Getting Books & Ebooks

Getting books can be challenging for distance learners.

Tips:

• Learners in Ohio can use the OhioLINK Library Catalog & have access to the collections of OhioLINK member libraries.
• Learners outside of Ohio, if you want them to use books in their research assignments, would need to connect with a library or libraries near them. 
• Learners outside of the United States may not have access to a library near them.
• American Library Directory Online (includes US & Canada) available here 

Our Recommendations:

If you need to include books in your research assignments::

• You may need to make exceptions on a case-by-case basis
• Make sure your students know that our reference librarians can help them identify & connect with libraries near them. 
• Ask a librarian to help you investigate ebook options for your course - the library has several ebook collections, most of which are NOT in our library catalog

Tips:

• If Interlibrary Loan is used to request a chapter of a book, the student may be able to get an online PDFof the chapter
• If Interlibrary Loan is used to request an entire book, the book must be picked up at Spangler
• Interlibrary Loan can take anywhere from 3 to 120 days, depending on availability
• Textbooks are NOT available through Interlibrary Loan

The library has several ebook collections. Some disciplines are represented more than others.

Tips:

• All ebooks available through our library catalog & our databases have off-campus access like our databases.
• Only some ebooks in the OhioLINK Library Catalog are accessible by ODU students

Our Ebook Collections:

• Search for ebooks in the ODU Library Catalog
  • ​View/Link to our PDF Guide 
• Search for ebooks in the OhioLINK Catalog
  • View/Link to our PDF Guide 
• View our Ebooks Collection Databases 
• View Additional Free Full-text Collections

Our Recommendation:

Work with a librarian to:

• Identify what kinds of ebooks we may have for your students
• Learn how best to use our ebooks collections
• Make sure you get the right link to an ebook--one that your students can access from off-campus
• Get support for your students with video tutorials & online guides on how to link to, open, & use our ebooks.

Want to know more about linking to an ebook from PantherLearn?

Visit our web portal, PantherLearn: Linking to the Library, or contact us for assistance.