Online & Distance Learning: Getting Articles

All ODU faculty, staff, & students have online access to most of our databases, with few exceptions, for articles & other documents.

Our Recommendation:

If you want your students to find articles, add a link to the appropriate discipline-specific library Research Guide or have a Library Course Research Guide created for your course.

• Students will have access to the best databases for your research assignments
• We keep the links up-to-date--you don't have to worry about them
• Any relevant new databases can be added with appropriate links to ensure off-campus access
• We have guides & video tutorials for students on how to search in the databases & can create additional ones if you need them
• We can edit our Research Guides to best suit your needs & the needs of your students

Want to know more about linking to a database or database article from PantherLearn?

Visit our web portal, PantherLearn: Linking to the Library, or contact us for assistance.

Let a librarian take a look at your details of the research assignment in your syllabus.

• We can easily spot details regarding databases that have changed & need updating
• We can share with you our first-hand knowledge of where students might have the most difficulty & can help provide solutions

Interlibrary Loan can be an option for a distance learner when full text of an article is not available.

Tips:

• Interlibrary Loan often takes 2-10 business days, but can take much longer (up to 120 days)
• Interlibrary Loan can NOT be used if you want all of your students to read the same article. This violates copyright law.
• Interlibrary Loan can NOT be used if you want all of your students to read one or more articles in the same journal. This violates copyright law.

Our Recommendations:

Remind your students that they have access to Interlibrary Loan and that all they need to use it is their ODU network username and password.

Include the following link in your online course: