Research Guides: Theology Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

Key starting points for your research
Scholarly & professional sites for use in class & in the field
Other potential resources in Theology
Tips & strategies

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

For biblical exegesis, search in the top three databases below, or search within our recommended journals.

ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion, with coverage including antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, and theology. Great database also for biblical exegesis.
ATLA Serials, Religion Collection This link opens in a new window
Indexes journal articles and book reviews in all fields of religion, with access to more than 300,000 full-text articles and 300,000 reviews. Also includes some biblical exegesis.
Jewish Studies Source This link opens in a new window
Offers a multidisciplinary view into the study of Jewish civilization from its historical origins to the present.
ProQuest Religion This link opens in a new window
Provides information on religious affairs and religious thinking from top religious periodicals.
Religion and Philosophy Collection This link opens in a new window
Covers such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.

Visit Databases for Theology for additional databases, or view the Library's Databases page for more options.

Need full text? Look for PDF or HTML Full Text in the databases. If these options are not available, make sure you try the "Find It" link that will be there. If fulll text is still unavailable, you may be able to request a copy of the article you need via Interlibrary Loan..

Video Tutorials

Step-by-Step Guides

ProQuest Religion - Guide to the Database (PDF)
Using a Scholarly Journal in a Database for Biblical Exegesis Research
Use this guide to search for articles in these journals for your biblical exegesis research.

Theology Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Top Research Databases

Video Tutorials

Step-by-Step Guides

Looking for Something Else?