Research Guides: Theology Research Guide: Books & Reference

Where to Browse in the Library

Books and other materials can be found in ODU Library's Reference Stacks, Reference Atlases, and Main Stacks in the following ranges of the Dewey Decimal System: 200s (theology) and 900s (history). A select list of the 200s follows:

203 - Religion & ethics
220s - Bible, biblical commentaries, bible dictionaries/encyclopedias, concordances
220.9s - Biblical archaeology
221s - Old Testament
225s - New Testament
230s - Christian faith, doctrine
241s - Christian ethics
248s - Christian spirituality
261s - Catholic social thought
261 & 262s - Papacy & Vatican documents, including encyclicals & canon law
270s - Church history
282s - Catholicism
291s - Religion and mythology
296s - Judaism

Featured Reference from the Reference Collection

The following are all available in ODU Library's Reference Collection, located on the top floor of Spangler. These books are for use in the library.

ODU Library Catalog
Search in the ODU Library Catalog for items in our collection in print and online through OPAL.
OhioLINK Classic Catalog
Search academic libraries statewide.

DeGruyter University Press E-books
E-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania, Rutgers and Penn State presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more. Also includes some scholarly journals.
Oxford Academic This link opens in a new window
Oxford Academic indexes ebooks from Oxford Scholarship Online, Oxford Handbooks Online, Oxford Medicine Online, and Oxford Clinical Psychology. Full text is available only for the ebooks from Oxford Scholarship Online.
Routledge Handbooks
Up-to-date overviews of classic and current research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built Environment from Routledge and CRC Press.

Oxford Scholarship Online Tour

Theology Research Guide: Books & Reference

Where to Browse in the Library

Featured Reference from the Reference Collection

Searching for Books & Ebooks

Online Reference

Looking for a Book but Can't Find It?