Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using the Library Databases
Use the databases below to find research articles.
To navigate through the rest of this guide, use the tabs above.
Top Research Databases
Use these top databases for social science research and particularly in the area of deviance.
Database provides access to the scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences.
CINAHL Plus with Full Text (Nursing & Allied Health)
Offers complete coverage of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, health sciences librarianship, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health, & allied health disciplines.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to law, criminal justice, and criminology.
Psychology and Behavioral Sciences Collection
Covers articles on emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry and psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Provides abstracts & articles from journals from 1895 to the present in the field of sociology and related social sciences.
A comprehensive database covering information in all areas of sociology, including social behavior, human tendencies, interaction, relationships, community development, culture and social structure.
These library databases may provide you with access to additional social sciences journals and other perspectives.
Academic Search Complete
This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Includes scholarly articles, magazine articles, & articles from newspapers.
Education Research Complete
A bibliographic and full-text database covering scholarly research and information relating to all areas of education.
Gender Studies Database
Combines Womens Studies International and Mens Studies databases with the coverage of sexual diversity issues.
Women's Studies International
Covers the core disciplines in Womens Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research.
State Library of Ohio
With a library card from the State Library of Ohio, you can request OhioLINK items and pick them up there and return them there.
Database Guides & Tutorials
Student Learning Outcomes
The goal with this guide is to enable students to:
- Identify and access appropriate resources for research in sociology and the study of deviance
- Recognize data and perspectives drawn from good social science research
Course Research Guide content & student learning outcomes are based on course syllabus outcomes & assignments.