Research Guides: Literature Research Guide: Book Reviews

Top Library Databases for Book & Film Reviews

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Includes scholarly articles, magazine articles, & articles from newspapers.
Library, Information Science, and Technology Abstracts with Full Text (LISTA) This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of journal articles and indexing of books, research reports and conference proceedings.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their literary works, including articles, biographies, and reviews.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Database for news and for reviews.

Each of these databases has a different core set of journals & magazines, some of which provide book reviews as well as articles. You can search one or all four at the same time!

Featured Magazines & Journals with Book & Film Reviews

Booklist
The New York Times via ProQuest
Full text from 1980 to the present.
Publisher's Weekly
Includes book, poetry, film, & television reviews.

Quick Tips for Finding Book Reviews in the Databases

Type in part or all of your book title in quotes to find an exact match.
Or type in part of the book title & the author's last name.
Then look for the option to limit your results to Book Reviews.

Here's how to search for book reviews on the book, Dust Tracks on the Road.

Type in the title, in quotes:

Select Book Reviews:

Look for the Book Review icon in your results: