Research Guides: ENG 110 & ENG 111: Start Your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Be sure to read your syllabus & the descriptions below to find out which database(s) you may need for your particular ENG111 section!

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
This collection offers full text coverage of information in many areas of academic study. Includes scholarly articles, magazine articles, & articles from newspapers.
Opposing Viewpoints
Provides information on social issues, including essays of opposing viewpoints, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents, links to websites, & full-text magazine & newspaper articles.
JSTOR (Arts and Sciences Collections III and V) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of articles from more than 7000 online scholarly research journals covering many subject areas.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Great database for news articles, with articles from major newspapers in the U.S. & worldwide.

Need help? Click on our Tips & Tutorials tab above, or ask a librarian.

Help with Scholarly Articles & with Search Strategy

What are Scholarly Articles?
Find out all about scholarly articles & peer review from Research 101, the library's research tutorial.
Developing a Good Search Strategy (5-min. video)
Watch this video to go from a topic to keywords to the right database & to list of relevant scholarly articles!

Developing your Search Strategy
How do you get good search terms? How do you create a good search strategy? Learn how with this step-by-step guide.
Searching by Keyword
Start learning how to search in the databases with this important introduction to searching by keyword.

Help with Specific Databases & Catalogs

How to Use Academic Search Complete
Accessing The New York Times in Nexis Uni
Search The New York Times for book & movie reviews in our database, Nexis Uni. Here's how to access The New York Times.