Research Guides: Biology Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

Key starting points for your research
Scholarly & professional sites for use in class & in the field
Other potential resources in Biology
Tips & strategies

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Looking for Something Else?

You Might Also Be Interested In:

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Top Research Databases

ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic full-text versions of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by American Chemical Society.
AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
Provides article citations by the U.S. Department of Agriculture's National Agricultural Library.
BIOSIS Citation Index This link opens in a new window
Issued as a part of the ISI Web of Knowledge, the database covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
BIOSIS Previews This link opens in a new window
Covers original research reports and reviews in biological and biomedical areas.
Energy and Power Source This link opens in a new window
This database covers information & research relevant to many energy & power industries, including the areas of coal, electric power, natural gas, nuclear power, petroleum, & renewable energy.
Environment Complete This link opens in a new window
Contains all of the content available in Environment Index, as well as full text for 400 journals.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost Interface) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is a premier database that provides access to for life sciences and biomedical research, with nearly 11 million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.

Additional databases are available in our Databases for Biology page.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases that are free & open to the public:

BioMed Central
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, & Health
Environmental Health Trust: 5G Studies
Growing collection of scientific articles on electromagnetic fields, wireless technology, and the health and environmental impact.
Public Library of Science (PLOS)
PLOS, a non-profit publisher, provides a searchable repository of full-text research literature.
Pubmed
Publicly accessible medical database from the National Library of Medicine.
TOXNET Information
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic releases.

Biology Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Looking for Something Else?

Top Research Databases

Video Tutorials

Step-by-Step Guides