Research Guides: American Literature Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Humanities Full Text
Includes scholarly articles from many humanities journals, as well as interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, & original works of fiction, drama, & reviews. .
Humanities International Complete
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
Literary Reference Center
Literary Reference Center Plus is a comprehensive database that provides a broad spectrum of information on thousands of authors and their literary works, including articles, biographies, and reviews.
JSTOR (Arts and Sciences Collections III and V)
Provides access to articles in back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
MLA International Bibliography
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.

Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

Additional literary works are available online from our Databases for English as well as Quick Reference: Literature.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases to get full-text literature:

American & English Literature: Poetry, Drama and Prose
Contains many works of poetry, drama, and prose, based on books and other sources originally published in print.

Advanced Searching in the EBSCO Databases (New)
Literary Reference Center - Tutorial (4-min video)
Working with your EBSCO Results List
Find out how to limit your results by (a) what kind of article you need & (b) what time frame you need, as well as how to sort, save, & link back to your searches!