Research Guides: Economics Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

Key starting points for your research
Scholarly & professional sites for use in class & in the field
Other potential resources in Economics
Tips & strategies

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Looking for Something Else?

You Might Also Be Interested In:Additional Business Research Guides

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Top Research Databases

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The best source for articles in all disciplines of business! Also includes news articles, SWOTs, industry profiles, company profiles, & market reports.
Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides company information, equity pricing & research, & industry analyses. Includes executive information, annual reports, and financials.
Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive stock database that includes financial data on companies traded on the New York Stock Exchange, NASDAQ®, and the American Stock Exchange; in-depth analyst reports on companies and how they are operating within the industry; funds data and reports; investment tools and financial literacy features.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database for news, legal research (federal & state cases, law reviews), & company dossiers. Also includes U.S. Executive Compensation database, SEC files, D&B Market Identifiers, Hoovers Company Records, & executives & board of directors.
Regional Business News This link opens in a new window
A collection of full-text newswires that incorporates news information from all over the world.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases that are free & open to the public:

Business Source Premier (from CML)
This database is similar to Business Source Complete & available to patrons who have a library card from Columbus Metropolitan Library (CML).
globalEdge Insights
globalEdge Insights provides data for over 200 countries and 20 trading blocks, data on emerging markets, information on industry sectors, and international & trade information for the 50 states in the U.S.
Mergent Intellect (from CML)
This database provides company & industry profiles for thousands of U.S. and international businesses. Available to those who have a public library card from Columbus Metropolitan Library
Morningstar (from CML)
This database is available to those who have a public library card from Columbus Public Library.
OECD iLibrary
Database on economics, business, & other global data by country.
World Bank Open Data
World Bank Open Data provides free and open access to data about development in countries around the globe.
World Bank Research & Outlook
World Bank Research & Outlook provides access to World Development Indicators, policy research, reports, global finance, and global economic prospects.

Interested in applying for a library card from Columbus Metropolitan Library after graduation? Apply online to CML here. Additional options for using libraries after graduation (or before) are also available.

Video Tutorials

Step-by-Step Guides

Where to Browse in the Library

Books and other materials can be found in ODU Library's Main Stacks & Reference Stacks in the following ranges of the Dewey Decimal System:

. 330 Economics
. 331 Labor Economics
. 332 Financial Economics
. 337 International Economics
. 339 Macroeconomics & Related topics