Research Guides: Poetry Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
JSTOR (Arts and Sciences Collections III and V) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
MLA International Bibliography is an index to books and articles published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics. Coverage includes literature from all over the world.

Other topics include literary theory and criticism, dramatic arts (film, radio, television, theater), and history of printing and publishing.

Additional databases are available from our Databases for English.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases to research Poetry:

American poetry Database : APD This link opens in a new window
A collection of books and anthologies of early American poetry from the 17th to the early 20th century.
English Poetry Database This link opens in a new window
Contains poems from British Commonwealth and ex-colonial countries, between the years 600 and 1900.
20th Century African-American Poetry This link opens in a new window
This database contains 12,000 poems by more than 100 African-American poets, with biographical profiles. Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection.
20th Century American Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains 52,000 poems from collected works and individual volumes of poetry covering the works of most major twentieth-century American poets. Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection.
20th Century English Poetry This link opens in a new window
Contains over 44,000 poems by 288 poets, incorporating the Modern Poetry Collection and The Faber Poetry Library. Now offered as part of the American and English Literature Collection.