Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

LST570 Research Guide: Start Here

A Guide to Doing Rsesarch on Democracy--the History of the Idea

Your Research Assignment

Refer to your syllabus for details of your assignment. To complete your assignment, you will need to research in multiple databases, the library's catalogs, and additional sources.

This guide is designed to support your research efforts and your preparation of the annotated bibliography and provide you with resources, tips, & strategies.

To navigate through this guide, use the strategies below or the tabs above. Need help? Ask a librarian.

Annotated Bibliographies

For your research assignment and annotated bibliography, make sure you know what the following mean:

  • Précis
  • Annotation

Tip: If you are unsure, use one of the online dictionaries linked from the library's Quick Reference Dictionaries page.

For more information on annotated bibliographies and for sample annotated bibliographies:

6 Strategies

Strategy #1: Search in a good selection of leading publications for articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews.

Strategy #2: Search in the library databases for scholarly journal articles, conference proceedings, and book reviews..

Strategy #3: Search in the library catalogs for books, ebooks, and dissertations.

Strategy #4: Search the web using search engines for existing online bibliographies, as well as additional book reviews, articles, and papers.

Strategy #5Review the sample searches in this guide for sample search strategies

Strategy #6: Be as thorough as possible.

  • Cast a broad net
    • Sample search: "dutch republic" 
  • Include very focused searching
    • Sample search: "dutch republic" and democracy and commerce
  • Always look for additional search terms in your titles and abstracts and subject headings.
  • Look in the bibliography/works cited/works consulted section of the books and articles and other documents that you do find for additional resources

Strategy #6:  Go to your syllabus and look at the titles listed in your section of the bibliography attached to the syllabus.

  • You may find additional potential search terms from the titles or the subjects represented in those books and articles.

 

chat loading...

Student Learning Outcomes

This guide is designed to enable students to do the following, as noted in the course syllabus:

  • Develop the research skills necessary to retrieve an idea from history

Course Guide content has been developed in consultation with faculty and with a focus on the above learning outcome..