Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching in the Databases
Use the research databases below for research literature and the other databases for data and structures.
To navigate through the rest of this guide, use the tabs above.
Top Research Databases
Use these database for researching the literature--articles, conference proceedings, and similar publications.
ACS Publications This link opens in a new window
Provides access to the electronic full-text versions of the over 30 titles published (or co-published) by American Chemical Society.
MEDLINE (EBSCOhost Interface) This link opens in a new window
Compiled by the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), MEDLINE is a premier database that provides access to for life sciences and biomedical research, with nearly 11 million records from over 7,300 different publications from 1965 to present.
Science Citation Index Expanded This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in approximately leading scholarly science and technical journals covering more than 150 disciplines.
Additional databases are available in our Databases for Chemistry page.
Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.
Use these databases that are free & open to the public and provide access to research articles, conference proceedings, and the like:
Over 290 quality peer-reviewed journals in Biology, Clinical Medicine, & Health
Search multidisciplinary sources for articles & patents.
Publicly accessible medical database from the National Library of Medicine.
TOXNET Toxicological Network
Databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, & toxic releases.
Public Sites for Data, Structures, Images, & More
Trouble Finding Full Text?
Options when full text does not appear to be immediately available in a database:
- Try the FindIt! via LinkSource option if available in the database you are using, if available
- If you are in an open access (i.e., public) database, try your search in ODU Library databases for full text
- Search ODU Library Catalog to see if the journal in which the article is published is available in print or online through ODU Library
- Do a Title search for the journal & check to see if the appropriate volume & issue are available
- If the needed journal volume &issue are not available from ODU Library, search the OhioLINK Library Catalog
- Search EBSCO A-to-Z for OhioLINK to see if the journal is available in another database
- If the above options fail, request a copy via Interlibrary Loan
- Ask a librarian for assistance at any time