Research Guides: Pre-Law Research Guide: Start Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The best source for articles in all disciplines of business! Also includes news articles, SWOTs, industry profiles, company profiles, & market reports.
Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This resource includes bibliographic records and full text covering essential areas related to law, criminal justice, and criminology.
Legal Collection This link opens in a new window
Is a collection of respected, scholarly peer-reviewed publications including law journals, documents, and case studies.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database for news, legal research (federal & state cases, law reviews), & company dossiers. Also includes U.S. Executive Compensation database, SEC files, D&B Market Identifiers, Hoovers Company Records, & executives & board of directors.

Additional databases are available in our Criminal Justice databases web page.

For newspapers, select from our Current Events databases.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Use these databases that are free & open to the public:

FindLaw: Research the Law
Find federal & state legal information & documentation, cases & codes, & small business law.

PubDefense
Public (open access) collection of scholarly articles, manuscripts, and data on research funded by the Department of Defense and Intelligence Advanced Research Projects Activity (IARPA).

State Legislative Websites Directory
Provides information & documentation at the state level, including constitutions, legislature, & statutes.
U.S. Code
Search the United States Code, prepared by the Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives.

Finding Cases in Nexis Uni
Learn how to find cases on issues, by parties, or by case citations and what to expect in your results..Case documents include annotations and links to relevant statutes and other cases.