Research Guides: Risk Management &amp; Insurance Research Guide: Start your Research Here

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

You Might Also Be Interested In:Additional Business Research Guides

Need help? Ask a librarian.

Best's Library Center
This database provides access to in-depth reports on public and private insurers, reinsurers, & groups. Includes Best's Credit Reports, with 5 years of financial analysis & detailed commentary on a company's operating methods & management philosophy.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The best source for articles in all disciplines of business! Also includes news articles, SWOTs, industry profiles, company profiles, & market reports.
Mergent Online
Mergent Online provides company information, equity pricing & research, & industry analyses. Includes executive information, annual reports, and financials.
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
Nexis Uni is a database for news, legal research (federal & state cases, law reviews), & company dossiers. Also includes U.S. Executive Compensation database, SEC files, D&B Market Identifiers, Hoovers Company Records, & executives & board of directors.
Risk Management Reference Center This link opens in a new window
A comprehensive risk management resource for corporate risk management professionals, strategic planners, and business students.

Additional databases are available in our Business databases page.

Or choose other databases from the Library's Databases page.

Census--Health Insurance
Provides data, tables, & publications on health insurance in the U.S. from population surveys.
NAIC Publications
The NAIC (National Association of Insurance Commissioners) provides a database with access to consumer guides, detailed statistical reports, & financial & regulatory information on thousands of insurance companies, often freely available in PDF format.
OECD--Insurance
Provides global insurance statistics, including total gross premiums, balance sheet & income, gross claims payments, gross operating expenses, & market share. Also includes related publications.