Research Guides: History Research Guide: Scholalry Research

What's in this Guide?

Start your Research Here!

This Guide is Designed to Give You:

How to Use this Guide:

Start with the resources on this page, or use the tabs above to navigate throughout the rest of this guide.

You might also be interested In:

Need help? Ask a librarian.

America, History and Life This link opens in a new window
Provides historical coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present, with information abstracted from over 2,000 journals.
Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more.
Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of hundreds of journals, books and other published sources from around the world.
JSTOR (Arts and Sciences Collections III and V) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles in back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication.
Social Sciences Citation Index (SSCI) This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and retrospective bibliographic information, author abstracts, and cited references found in leading scholarly social sciences journals covering more than 50 disciplines.

More History databases for researching history.

DeGruyter University Press E-books
E-books from Columbia, Harvard, California, Stanford, Toronto, and University of Pennsylvania, Rutgers and Penn State presses covering a variety of subjects, including sciences, humanities, business, technology, medicine, law, and more. Also includes some scholarly journals.
Routledge Handbooks
Up-to-date overviews of classic and current research across the Humanities, Social Sciences, Education, Psychology, Engineering, and Built Environment from Routledge and CRC Press.

Books and other materials can be found in ODU Library's Main Stacks & Reference Stacks in the following ranges of the Dewey Decimal System: